Check Out the Next Stop on the DPC: The Chongqing Major

The Chongqing Major, the second Dota 2 Major this season, is nearly upon us. Let’s take a closer look at what we can expect and why we should watch!

The Chongqing Major will run from January 19-27, with sixteen of the world’s best Dota 2 teams competing for $1,000,000 (US) and 15,000 Dota 2 Pro Circuit (DPC) points. It will be held in the BLOOMAGE Cultural and Sports Center in Chongqing, China, and is being run by StarLadder and ImbaTV.

With sixteen teams competing, the Major is stacked. Ten of the top twelve teams in the DPC standings are attending the Chongqing Major. Six of the teams at Chongqing could potentially move up into the top twelve in the standings, displacing other teams from those coveted invitation-to-The-International-9 spots.

The teams have been divided into four groups for the group stage. A GSL-style group stage will seed two teams from each group into the Upper Bracket of the Playoff, and two teams into the Lower Bracket. All of the group stage series will be best-of-three. The Playoffs, which will run from January 22-27, are a double-elimination bracket. The first round of the Lower Bracket are single game series for elimination, but all other series will be best-of-threes until the Grand Finals which are best-of-five.

That’s a lot of Dota!

Let’s look at each of the groups.

Dodaj komentarz

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: